Regimental Headquarters

The Regimental Headquarters (RHQ) of the THA is on the Mount Collins Military Base, located on the corner of Olympia and Southway Roads, Kelvin, Johannesburg, South Africa. This headquarters is shared with the Light Horse Regiment.
Since it’s inception on the 17th March 1904, the Regiment has been Headquartered in the City of Johannesburg.
The first headquarters of the THA was located in Auckland Park, where the SABC building is currently located. The Regiment was moved to Doornkop Military Base in the 1960’s when construction started on SABC building.
The Regiment was moved from Doornkop Military Base to Anderson Street, the site of the old Marshall Street Police Barracks. The Regiment moved again in 1995 to Activia Park, Primrose where it remained until 30 May 1998. The Regiment finally moved into it’s current headquarters on 30 May 1998.
THA enjoys the Freedom of the City of Johannesburg, and is a member of the Freedom Regiment’s Association.
The Regiment now falls under Command and Control of the South African Army Artillery Formation.
The THA RHQ is responsible for the over Command and Control of the Regiment. All main logistical, administrative and personnel functions for the Regiment are performed by the RHQ Battery.
The sub-units are the 7th Battery, 8th Battery, 9th Battery, Target Acquisition Battery and the Regimental Support Battery. The Battery Headquarters are also located at the THA RHQ Building at Mount Collins.
There are posts available in the Regimental Headquarters and all of our Batteries for members with suitable qualifications and previous military experience. Contact the Recruiting Officer to schedule an interview or for further details about the available posts.